Spring 2024 WOWArtSci Self-Directed Retreat

Associated Residency Program

WOWArtSci welcomes artists and scientists to explore their passions in a natural retreat setting with total quiet, dark skies (Bortle 2), and easy access to a vibrant, diverse, and historic community of artists and artisans. We are located on the Taos Volcanic Plateau aka 'The Mesa' - approximately 13 miles from downtown Taos, NM. 

SPRING 2024 Self Directed Residency Dates (7 days/6 nights):

Fee: $500+$35 GRT and a $100 security deposit = $635

January 
Monday 22 January - Sunday 28 January 

February 
Monday 5 February - Sunday 11 February 

March 
Monday 25 March - Sunday 31 March 

April 
Monday 8 April - Sunday 14 April 
Monday 22 April - Sunday 28 April 

May 
Monday 6 May - Sunday 12 May 
Monday 20 May - Sunday 26 May 

June 
Monday 3 June - Sunday 9 June

Residents are housed in a 900 sq. ft. Casita with private kitchen and bath. Additional studio space is available. Keep an eye out on our application page to see the status of our studios. To keep the Casita friendly for all of our future residents and guests we request that no art work may be done that uses toxic or perfumed chemicals. Residents can work anywhere outside on our 20 acre property.

This is a rural and somewhat remote location with uneven ground, cantankerous weather, and high elevation. Please contact us with any accessibility questions or concerns. 

Deadline
Residency Length
1 week - 1 week
Languages
English
Average Number of Artists in Residence at a Time
1
Collaborative Residency
Must apply and be accepted individually
Discipline
Drawing
Interdisciplinary Arts
Mixed Media
Painting
Sculpture
Visual Arts
Book Arts
Installation Arts
Paper Arts
Textile & Fiber Arts/Weaving
Criticism
Fiction
Journalism
Literary Nonfiction
Literature
New Genres
Nonfiction
Playwriting
Poetry
Screenwriting
Translation
Writing
Acting
Choreography
Dance
Performance Art
Music
Animation
Computing
Digital Media
Documentary
Electronic Arts
Film
Moving Image
Multimedia Arts
Photography
Sound Art
TV + Radio
Virtual Reality
Graphic Design
Illustration
Environmental Arts
Public Art
Social Practice
Storytelling
Biology
Ecology
Environmentalism/Conservation
Science
Art Education
Art History
History
Mathematics
Philosophy
Companions
Pets are not allowed
Country of Residence
Open to artists based anywhere in the world
Family Friendly
Residents granted leave during residency
Spouses/partners allowed for full stay (non-collaborators)
Stage of Career
Any stage of career
Additional Expectations/Opportunities
Donate a work of art
Accessible Housing
Inaccessible
Meals Provided
Residents have access to private kitchen
No meals are provided
Studios/Special Equipment
Private Studios
Shared Studios
Studios/Facilities Accessibility
Inaccessible
Type of Housing
Private housing on campus (individual apartment/cabin/house)
Additional Eligibility Information

Please read the application carefully before applying.

Artist Stipend
0
US Dollar (USD)
Travel Stipend/Material Stipends
Residency Fees
Grant/Scholarship/other Funding Support
Application Fee
0
US Dollar (USD)
Application Type
Open application